I'm A Noob, Blues Help

LankanLatinoLankanLatino Road Warrior
edited January 2009 in History of Rock
so i know very very very little about blues other than BB King is supposed to be the pioneer for it

and i dont know if the songs Texas Flood by SRV and Red House by Hendrix are classified as blues, but if they are - i REALLY dig it

so what im askin is, can you point me in the direction of some great blues cds or just the names of some of the best blues songs?

thanks

Comments

• timmay9timmay9 Washed Up
    edited January 2009
    Robert Johnson-The Complete Recordings
    John Lee Hooker-The Ultimate Collection
  • GowienczykGowienczyk Pooper of Parties
    edited January 2009
    A Hard Road - John Mayall and the Bluesbreakers
    A Man & the Blues - Buddy Guy
    Boom Boom - John Lee Hooker
    Confessin' The Blues - Little Walter
    Father of the Delta Blues - Son House
    Fathers and Sons - Muddy Waters
    Had to Cry Today - Joe Bonamassa
    Howlin' Wolf - Howlin' Wolf
    King of the Blues Guitar - Albert King
    Serious - Luther Allison
    Smokin' - Jonny Lang
    Trash Talkin - Albert Collins
    West Coast Blues - Lowell Fulson
  • thedoorsdkthedoorsdk Road Warrior
    edited January 2009
    I started with the British blues-rock explosion and kind of moved backwards from there. For the best transition from rock to blues I'd recommend:

Cream - Any album will do, though Disraeli Gears and Fresh Cream are slightly more bluesy than Wheels of Fire.

John Mayall's Bluesbreakers - "Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton." Arguably the penultimate British blues record.

Fleetwood Mac - Anything with Peter Green, first 3 or 4 albums.