Need advice from real musicians (any instrument welcome!)

WolfbeckettWolfbeckett Road Warrior
edited June 2009 in Less Rokk More Talk
So me and some buddies of mine had our first real band practice a few days ago, and it was super awesome. I have never played music in a group before and it was pretty much the most fun thing I have ever done. Problem is, we did not actually play any songs, we just sort of jammed, which was fun, but I would like us to start doing actual songs as well.

The real issue we have with this is that both the guitarist and myself (drums) are newbs. I have been playing for about 5 months and he has been playing since Christmas, so ~7 months or so. Now I think I am pretty decent for the amount of time I have been playing, I can play consistently up to about 120-140 BPM as long as the pattern is not horribly complex and I seem to pretty good at improving too. Our guitarist however has not been super diligent with his practice, so he can play some chords but he is not super fast at changing between them.

So I am reaching out to our great community here at Rockband.com. I need suggestions on songs we can learn. Here are the criteria:

1.) They must be rock. None of us have any interest in playing country, folk, teenie bopper pop, or anything like that, we are rock fans. Metal would be fantastic because we all like it but most metal is probably going to be way beyond our guitarists ability so any other kind of rock will be great too.

2.) They can not be too difficult on guitar. Please no barre chords since our guitarist can not play them yet. He can do all of the standard major and minor chords, dominant 7ths, and I could probably teach him suspended open chords without much difficulty if need be.

3.) Nothing too fast. As I said I can go as high as maybe 140 BPM and stay on top of it but much beyond that is pushing the boundaries of my current ability. No 200 BPM Ramones songs please ;).