A great video series for teaching you how to record music (RBN)

Alvarado6411Alvarado6411 Dethbringer
edited August 2009 in The Rock Band Network
I am passing along this video series for people who are interested in recording their own music, on a budget, for RBN. I noticed quite a few people not knowing how to exactly make a good recording of their songs and this video series, taught by Dave Ellefson (Megadeth) is a great way to gain knowledge on the recording aspect of music. Plus it shows the standard for the way songs should be recorded for RBN. Perfect for those of you who want to make it big on the network.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NyvNT_eO52E

Comments

• WrythmWrythm Opening Act
    edited July 2009
    I'm a pro tools certified audio engineer that will be able to help those out who don't have much MIDI or mixing experience and assist them in getting their songs ready for the RBN.

This is a good series in a sense of he's giving you some general knowledge of what sounds good, but all in all, if you're just looking to create some songs to put onto Rock Band...here's a setup that should be enough if you're truly on a budget. Keep in mind, this is for a one man band.

- Sonar, Logic, Garage Band, Cool Edit Pro, Cubase, Nuendo, Acid, Pro Tools etc. These are programs that are good for tracking vocals and live instruments.
    - Condenser Microphone for vocals. AT3505's are decent, Shure KSM's, etc. You can find some fairly cheap ones that can get the job done.
    - Microphones to mic guitar/bass if you're not running directly into your audio interface.
    - (If you're a full band with an actual drummer) You'll need some drum mics. This can get kind of pricey. You can get the job done with a couple of good overhead condenser microphones, but for a precise recording, you'd want to mic up each drum head. A cheap but decent microphone package I know of can be found HERE.