Any Tips for Guitar?

PDXPantherPDXPanther Unsigned
edited September 2009 in The Beatles: Rock Band
I'm new to the whole music game genre. I've done pretty well for myself since the game came out. I'm currently a medium guitarist in the game, and now am pushing/challenging myself on to Hard. I've done OK getting low 80's % as my best scores. A friend of mine told me to slide my fingers over one color so now my index finger is on the red fret rather than the blue. Are there any other tips you guys may have to help me?

Comments

• Moony_LupinMoony_Lupin Rising Star
    edited September 2009
    I do a combo of pinky stretch and moving the whole hand down. I suggest starting on hard on bass because there's fewer notes and you'll get used to finding the orange button.
  • PDXPantherPDXPanther Unsigned
    edited September 2009
  • skysawskysaw Opening Act
    edited September 2009
    When alternating between notes on two different frets, keep the finger that's on the lower fret pressed down the whole time. The only thing that counts is the highest correct notes, and this is by design.

This will make many passages much, much easier, since you move one finger instead of two.
  • CONAN9845CONAN9845 Road Warrior
    edited September 2009
    Why would your index finger be on blue? Do you mean green?

I agree with that. It's much easier for me to stretch my index finger up to green than it is to stretch my pinky finger down to orange.

I also agree with starting on bass, and learning to alt-strum (down AND up).

If you can keep straight in your head about which fingers you can leave down, then try that. It's not as easy as it sounds, though.
    edited September 2009
    CONAN9845;3071135 said:
    If you can keep straight in your head about which fingers you can leave down, then try that. It's not as easy as it sounds, though.
    It's one of those details that real-life guitarists already have ingrained in their heads.