How do you start charting? (Midi editor)

boblybobboblybob Opening Act
edited October 2009 in The Rock Band Network
I read through all the guides and it dosen't tell me. I've never used Reaper before, I have the tempo charted out and the tracks ready but how do I get the midi editor to start charting?

Comments

• VedicardiVedicardi Road Warrior
    edited October 2009
    go to insert, then pick "new midi item" and then put it on and line it up with one of the audio tracks
  • boblybobboblybob Opening Act
    edited October 2009
    Thank you so much dude.
  • trg007trg007 Your Ever Rocking RBN Forum Guru
    edited October 2009
    If you start a new project using the RBN template (File -> Project Templates -> RBNTemplate) it will create all the MIDI tracks for you. No need to manually insert MIDI items.
  • boblybobboblybob Opening Act
    edited October 2009
    Thank you both, now do I just start charting right after the play event?
  • EvileOLEvileOL Opening Act
    edited October 2009
    i used the template, and can see the midi tracks and I have my audio set up, but how do i open the MIDI chartin tables? i only have the mixer viewable
  • kuiosiklekuiosikle Opening Act
    edited October 2009
    Double click the midi track you want to work on. Double click on it IN the time line.
  • ethicalpaulethicalpaul Opening Act
    edited October 2009
    Right-click on the midi track item and look about 6 items down the menu for one called "Open items in editor". You'll get a submenu with more choices. Start with the one that says something like "Open items in built in midi editor".

Eventually you'll want to try the inline editor, because it's handy to have your midi notes so close to the audio track (if like me, you arrange your midi tracks just above their corresponding audio tracks), but you will be disappointed because the inline midi editor...sucks.

another tip: Be sure to have your midi editor docked in the main window.