First Success! First Failure! (and First Post!)

MarklefordMarkleford Opening Act
edited October 2009 in The Rock Band Network
I've been lurking around here for a long time, being a Rock Band addict, but it finally took RBN to make me register an account. Hey everyone, it's a First Post Party! Woot!

I'm a musician and music software developer, so RBN is definitely my sort of thing. I'm eager to offer up music from myself, my collaborators, and projects I've produced.

So now I've had my First Success! I've taken an old track, bashed the audio into the proper stems and tracked the vocal as a MIDI note part (all in SONAR), and exported it all for subsequent import into Reaper... which I haven't used since 2007 or so! My, but things have changed since then.

So there was a learning-curve to bust with both Reaper and Magma. Some of those error messages from compiling are downright *arcane*! And the documentation is still "sketchy" at best. But with a liberal amount of trial and error, and an overall hacker work-ethic, I managed to break through the haze to achieve some clarity.

All told, start to finish, it took me 5 hours to remix/export my audio and learn the system enough to author a song with *only* a vocal part. But hey, First Success! And the tracks to follow will benefit from all the lessons learned and come quicker and quicker.

Of course, then there was a small battle with Audition mode. Had to re-up my Live Gold account, which I'd let lapse. Registered for XNA Premium membership. Then... nada. The Audition screen still locked me out. After poking around with my router and firewall settings, I eventually gave up to go catch a shower, in hopes that a little time would let my new membership data propagate to the necessary servers.

Sure enough, when I returned, Audition mode would now let me through! I then set up Magma to find the 360, sent my file, and I was in.

They say you'll always remember your first:

[ATTACH]5828[/ATTACH]
Expert Vocals: 3***, 83%