Tips for the vocal tracks?

ccarolloccarollo Unsigned
edited January 2010 in The Rock Band Network
Anyone have any tips or utilities they find useful for doing the vocal tracking? I'm working on a song that's pretty growly (think burly southern rock), so doing it all by ear is going to be quite the challenge.

Anyone tried feeding the vocal tracks into something like a FFT to at least get the relative frequencies of each phrase?

Comments

• trg007trg007 Your Ever Rocking RBN Forum Guru
    edited January 2010
    Use the ReaSynth effect so you can hear the notes you're charting and find the matching pitch for each syllable. If it's growly as in there is not a definite pitch, then you can use non-pitched (talky) lyrics.
  • ccarolloccarollo Unsigned
    edited January 2010
    Thanks -- I'm totally new to this, so is there a particular way that I'm supposed to use ReaSynth? I went to my vocal track's fx menu, added VSTi: ReaSynth (Cockos)...and I'm not sure what else to do. I play my track and it sounds exactly the same. I tried adding it to my guitar track too just in case the vocals weren't pitchy enough, but nothing happened there either, so I must be doing something wrong, but I'm not sure what.

Edit: Oh, read through some more of the docs and I was misunderstanding what ReaSynth does. I thought it analyzed the vocal track, but it just makes your midi tracking audible. Not nearly as useful, but it is something.
  • Podruvan360Podruvan360 Opening Act
    edited January 2010
    I'm not sure if I'm doing you any favors by saying this, but Melodyne is a program that does kind of what you're looking for. It's expensive, though, and not as accurate as the ear is. It's mostly for producing music, not analyzing it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFCjv4_jqAY
  • trg007trg007 Your Ever Rocking RBN Forum Guru
    edited January 2010
    ccarollo;3457677 said: