Dtxpress IV on rock band??

hunt0rhunt0r Unsigned
edited November 2012 in Rock Band
i know it's possible, im just a noob with electronic drums..
has anything done this? and can tell me how they changed the midi settings on the brain to correspond with RB/GH? thanks ~_~

Comments

• LoopyChewLoopyChew Wordsmith
    edited April 2010
    Doc's Mods to the rescue!

I have a DTXpress IV myself and have very happily been using it to play Rock Band. Oh, and attempted actual drumming with it, too. It takes a fair amount of mapping (with all the different zones and such) but it's worth it in the end!
  • perpetual98perpetual98 Unsigned
    edited April 2010
    I'm using a DTXpress III for RB2 and it works great. I had to move the HH to a different "arm" of the kit because of cross-talk issues. I'm using the GH:WT brain (ebay) to control it. The only thing I don't get is cymbal sounds in fills. Everything is a tom, but they all chart correctly.
  • hunt0rhunt0r Unsigned
    edited April 2010
    can someone explain to me how they changed the settings on the yamaha brain to work on rock band/ guitar hero?? thats all i need ~_~
  • perpetual98perpetual98 Unsigned
    edited April 2010
    Use the link that LoopyChew provided earlier. It will get you pointed in the right direction.

http://docsrockbandmods.netforums.us/drum-mods-and-drum-gear-forums-guide-and-faq-vt749.html
  • dabrry0523dabrry0523 Road Warrior
    edited April 2010
    if you wanted to spend a bit more money you could get a j5 here
  • KamianoKamiano Opening Act
    edited April 2010
    You need a GHWT drum controller. Use a MIDI cable to plug it in. Set up a new kit and place the MIDI notes to this.
    RED - MIDI Note 38
    YELLOW - MIDI Note 46
    BLUE - MIDI Note 48
    GREEN - MIDI Note 45
    ORANGE (GHWT only) - MIDI Note 49
    KICK - MIDI Note 36
  • hunt0rhunt0r Unsigned
    edited April 2010