What are Achievements?

AkaymayAkaymay Rising Star
edited July 2007 in Less Rokk More Talk
Okay, I'm really new to the 360 here, but what are Achievements? I know they are just things you do in game that you get recognized for. Like in most FPS games, you get achievements when you kill guys, or do stuff. But what are MP achievements? I hear there are like, tons of different kinds of achievements that allow you to do different things (Not in-game, but on Xbox live, and stuff)

Could someone just like, list out what kinds of achievements there are (Not from a game)

I can't explain it well...I just heard there are kinds of achievements that allow you to like, get stuff off the Xbox live marketplace and stuff. I dont know if this is just for a particular game, but I hear things like MP achievements, SP achievements, stuff like that...so confused...

Comments

• Rock_StarmanRock_Starman Headliner
    edited July 2007
    No achivement points are different from marketplace points.
    Dead Rising has some in game unlocks tied to them and some games give gamer pics but that's all.

They're useless,just add numbers to your score and your score does nothing. There's a challenge thing to win prizes but that's only for the US but I think that's over for now.
  • hmxgrichhmxgrich Unsigned
    edited July 2007
    For me, achievements are accomplishments as well as motivation for completing things in a game. You have your Gamerscore, it's there simply to show how much you accomplish in the games you play. It doesn't play any special role in anything.

Every game has it's own set of achievements, with different amount of gamerpoints for each achievement. I don't know about contests and such, but as I said, I get all giddy when I see that pop up and say Achievement Unlocked :D

But I think it gives me more motivation to try to complete every aspect of a game, because I know I'll always get that feeling of accomplishment when I see that Unlocked message.