A Wanna-be Drummer that needs help

triforceknighttriforceknight Unsigned
edited July 2011 in History of Rock
Hey, i thought this would be the best place to post this, if not i apologize.

I need help learning to play the drums and i thought i would get the best advice here so let me give you some background to help.

I started playing rock band about 4 months after it came out when i finally found a rock band 1 full band set in a store. I started on guitar probably like everyone else. After a few months i went to drums because none of my friends could get the hang of it and we wanted to enter come competitions. Took me a while, but eventually i got the hand of using my foot and arms at the same time and within a few months i was playing Hard/Expert.

I realized how much i loved playing RB drums and i had already tried to learn guitar (my fingers wont bend and i didnt have the patience because i was so young and stupid). I began studying how to play the drums, what pieces of a kit made what sound and how they charted in rock band (hihat and high tom were yellow, ride and med tom were blue, ect) and i started dissecting songs i heard on the radio and charting them in my head.

When the cymbals came out for Rock Band 2 i bought them and the rock band 2 band kit for the drums and when i played Drums, i would try and use the cymbals in the right place by simply learning the patterns and sound of the song.

Now, so many years later, i have an electronic drum set, an Alesis DM 7 but i am having some problems. The main thing is that i can't seem to play any songs on my real set unless i have the visual aid of a rock band chart (pro drums made this even easier for me to do). Even if i know the song by heart and its really simple, like Tom Pettys "Running down a Dream" i just cant seem to keep the beat and keep up.