Official Discussion - DLC Week of 9/20 - Nirvana 4 Pack & 10 Nirvana Pro Upgrades!

edited September 2011 in Rock Band
hmxhenry;4497109 said:
Hey gang,

On September 20th, Nirvana’s era defining Nevermind will be reissued as a deluxe 5-disc package to celebrate the 20th anniversary of its September 24th, 1991 release. Rock Band will celebrate the band’s career by releasing 4 songs new to the Rock Band catalog and adding Pro Guitar/Bass upgrades to 10 existing Nirvana tracks!

Since the entirety of Nevermind’s tracklist already appears in Rock Band’s catalog, we’ve gone to other releases for this collection celebrating the band’s career, and the “Celebrating Nirvana Pack” is an amazing collection in its own right. The pack features 3 of the biggest songs from 1993’s In Utero, “Rape Me”, “All Apologies”, and “Heart-Shaped Box”, the last of which also features a Pro Guitar/Bass upgrade.

The pack is rounded out with one of the last tracks known to be recorded by the band, “You Know You’re Right”. The track was recorded in 1994 but remained unreleased until the compliation album Nirvana in 2002. Upon its release, it charted at #1 on the Billboard Mainstream Rock and Modern Rock charts.

In addition, Rock Band is upgrading a staggering 10 tracks from the existing Nirvana catalog with Pro Guitar/Bass upgrades! Get ready to play along with your favorite Nirvana songs on your Rock Band 3 compatible Pro Hardware!

As always, songs available as downloadable content for Rock Band 3 feature five-button guitar and bass parts, drums, Pro Drums, and keys, Pro Keys and harmonies, where applicable. “Heart-Shaped Box” also features Pro Guitar and Pro Bass upgrades available for an additional $0.99 upgrade download.

Available on Xbox 360, Wii and PlayStation®3 system (September 20th, 2011):

• Nirvana – “Heart-Shaped Box” X
• Nirvana – “Rape Me”
• Nirvana – “All Apologies”
• Nirvana – “You Know You’re Right”

The Nirvana new tracks will be available as “Celebrating Nirvana Pack”, and all tracks will be available for purchase individually on Xbox 360, PlayStation®3 system and Wii. Tracks marked with “X” will include Pro Guitar and Pro Bass expansions for $0.99 per song.

These are upgrades to existing songs within the Rock Band Catalog

• Nirvana – “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
• Nirvana – “Breed”
• Nirvana – “Polly”
• Nirvana – “Territorial Pissings”
• Nirvana – “Lounge Act”
• Nirvana – “Stay Away”
• Nirvana – “On a Plain”
• Nirvana – “Something in the Way”
• Nirvana – “Lithium (live)”
• Nirvana – “Come As You Are (live)”

(These tracks and upgrades will be available in Europe on PlayStation®3 system September 21st)


$6.99, £3.49 UK, €5.29 EU (560 Microsoft Points, 700 Wii Points™) for “Celebrating Nirvana Pack”
$1.99 USD, £.99 UK, €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points) per song
$2.00 USD (200 Wii Points™) per song
$0.99 USD (100 Wii Points/80 Microsoft Points), £0.59 UK, €0.79 EU per song for eligible Pro Guitar/Pro Bass upgrade

** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **

To discuss this DLC please visit the official discussion thread in the Rock Band forum.

For all DLC song credits, including album and genre info as well as difficulty ratings, you can check out the Songs page.

And for awesome background information on this content, including recording details, album of origin, and release details you can head on over to the Rock Band 'Zine for brand new articles!

Rock Band Network releases are listed below!
Well, we don't sound like Madonna
Here we are now, we're Nirvana
Sing distinctly? We don't wanna
Buy our album, we're Nirvana
A garage band from Seattle
Well it sure beats raising cattle


Sign In or Register to comment.