DLC Week of 12/20 - Hendrix 7 Pack and 4 Pro Upgrades!

edited December 2011 in Announcements
Named the greatest guitar player of all time by Rolling Stone magazine in its recent “100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time” feature, there are few unfamiliar with the legendary songwriter and performer Jimi Hendrix. The guitar virtuoso’s playing style redefined rock and roll, infusing his unparalleled technical ability with an extreme and experimental sound that wowed audiences, changing music history for decades to come. On December 20th, Harmonix is proud to be adding seven classic Hendrix tracks to the Rock Band Music Store.

1968’s Hendrix-produced Electric Ladyland album features some of the musician’s most popular and enduring songs. Three songs from this classic – “Long Hot Summer Night,” “Gypsy Eyes,” and “All Along the Watchtower” – kick off the pack. An incendiary live performance of “Voodoo Child (Slight Return),” recorded at the legendary Woodstock festival, is also included in the pack. The pack of seven tracks is rounded out by “Dolly Dagger”, “Freedom” and “Angel” from 1977’s First Rays of the New Rising Sun.

Pro Guitar and Pro Bass upgrades for two of the tracks, “All Along the Watchtower” and “Freedom,” will be available. Pro upgrades for previously available Hendrix songs, “Purple Haze” and “Little Wing,” will also be offered. A full list of the extensive catalog of Jimi Hendrix songs playable in Rock Band can be found here.

Available on Xbox 360, Wii™ and PlayStation®3 system (December 20th, 2011):

• The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “Long Hot Summer Night” O
• The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “Gypsy Eyes”
• The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “All Along the Watchtower” X
• Jimi Hendrix – “Voodoo Child (Slight Return) (Live)”
• Jimi Hendrix – “Dolly Dagger”
• Jimi Hendrix – “Freedom” O X
• Jimi Hendrix – “Angel”

Pro Guitar/Bass Upgrades for Legacy Songs

• The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “Purple Haze”
• The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “Little Wing”

(These tracks will be available in Europe on PlayStation®3 system December 21st)

The tracks will be available as “Experience Jimi Hendrix Pack 01,” with all songs available for purchase individually on Xbox 360, PlayStation®3 system and Wii™. Tracks marked with “O” feature support for keyboards; tracks marked with “X” will offer Pro Guitar and Pro Bass expansions for $0.99 per song.

$10.99 USD, £5.99 UK, €8.99 EU (880 Microsoft Points, 1100 Wii Points™) for the “Experience Jimi Hendrix 01” pack
$1.99 USD, £.99 UK, €1.49 EU (160 Microsoft Points) per song
$2.00 USD (200 Wii Points™) per song
$0.99 USD (100 Wii Points™/80 Microsoft Points), £0.59 UK, €0.79 EU per song for eligible Pro Guitar/Pro Bass upgrade

** Dates for Rock Band game tracks are tentative and subject to change. **

To discuss this DLC please visit the official discussion thread in the Rock Band forum.

For all DLC song credits, including album and genre info as well as difficulty ratings, you can check out the Songs page.

And for awesome background information on this content, including recording details, album of origin, and release details you can head on over to the Rock Band 'Zine for brand new articles!


This discussion has been closed.