Advice For A Beginning Guitarist

edited August 2007 in Less Rokk More Talk
Alright, I'm looking to try and learn to play real guitar. I have had very little musical experience and am essentially just wanting to learn some basic stuff not make a career out of it or anything. Maybe just learn enough so I can jam with my friends who are pretty good musicians. What I was wondering was what is a good guitar to start out with. I've done some research but cant really tell what I should get. I dont really want to spend over 300 dollars and would like to go as cheap as possible while still getting a guitar that wont frustrate me to death. Any tips?

Comments

• lithiumkclithiumkc Rising Star
    edited August 2007
    P.S. before you look into getting one, go to www.harmonycentral.com and check out reviews. That place is a reliable-ass resource.
  • SaltinesSaltines Rising Star
    edited August 2007
    And one more thing, usually the cables that com with the packs and such suck.

Go out and buy a monster cable, best cables you can get and they have a lifetime warranty, some are quite expensive, so I recommend this one...
    Monster Cable ROAR

I got a 12 foot from my Guitar center and its a great cable, cuts down of alot of the fuzz I was getting, and its very durable. The 12 foot costed us around 24$
  • edited August 2007
    Thanks everyone, I appreciate the input
  • AkaymayAkaymay Rising Star
    edited August 2007
    Saltines;33281 said:

Go out and buy a monster cable, best cables you can get and they have a lifetime warranty, some are quite expensive, so I recommend this one...
    Monster Cable ROAR

I got a 12 foot from my Guitar center and its a great cable, cuts down of alot of the fuzz I was getting, and its very durable. The 12 foot costed us around 24$
    Or, if you're like me, and want to go all the way. Get a wireless cable.

http://www.samedaymusic.com/product--SENEW172G2
    edited August 2007
    Psh, 60day return policy and a tag of 450$.