Heavy Metal Question

pistonengine08pistonengine08 Unsigned
edited September 2007 in History of Rock
What is the difference between power metal and death metal?

To make my confusion clearer:
I'm just getting into heavy metal and have a rather thin collection of metal albums (Prolly less than 20). One of my favorites (and most recent addition) has been Amon Amarth - With Oden on Our Side. I initially thought that the album was power metal until I saw it referred to as death metal. I instantly sought out a Nile music video to confirm my suspicion that Amon Amarth sounded nothing like them. I listened to the Nile song, and was pretty content that they were two different genres of metal until I saw Amon Amarth referred to again as a death metal band.

With their melodic style and a sound pleasing to the ear (including a badass breakdown in Gods of War Arise), they are what I'd associate more with power metal, rather than the extreme fast-pace and dissonance I expect from death metal bands like Nile.

Where am I going wrong? What constitutes the difference between the genres?

Comments

• KutsicKutsic Opening Act
    edited September 2007
    Amon Amarth play melodic death metal, with small elements of viking and folk metal thrown in.

Melodic death metal is a form of music popularized by bands from Sweden's Gothenburg scene. In Flames, Dark Tranquillity, and At the Gates are probably the best known bands that play the style. It combines elements of death metal with the musical characteristics of bands like Iron Maiden. Some of the more common elements of melodeath are a slower pace, extensive use of guitar harmonies, a greater focus on rythm, and clean sections to the music.